Now Reading
Despite vacancies, Hamilton municipal candidate count is down from 2018

Despite vacancies, Hamilton municipal candidate count is down from 2018

Despite the number of open races in the upcoming municipal election the number of candidates running for council seats is actually down from the 2018 election, There are 62 candidates running in the 15 ward ridings compared to 89 in 2018. Similarly, there were 15 candidates running for mayor in 2018 compared to seven this time. The registered candidates listed in the order they will appear on the ballot are:


Bob Bratina

Ejaz Butt

Paul Fromm

Solomon Ikhuiwu

Hermiz Ishaya

Andrea Horwath

Keanin Loomis


Ward 1: Ian MacPherson, John Vail and Maureen Wilson.

Ward 2: Shahan Aaron, Jason Farr, Robin McKee, Cameron Kroetsch and Raquel Rakovac.

Ward 3: Michael Falletta, Laura Farr, Walter Furlan, and Nrinder Nann.

Ward 4: Maxwell Francis, Angelica Hasbon, Tammy Hwang, Alex Johnstone, Cindy Louise Kennedy, Pascale Marchand, Adam Oldfield, Robert Paris, Laura Taylor, Eric James Tuck, and Mary Louise Williams.

Ward 5: Sebastian Aldea, Krysta Boyer, Matt Francis,  Kevin Geenen, Stan Habza, Bob Hurst, Ryan Ladner, Lynda Lukasik and Angela Pugliese.

Ward 6: Tom Jackson, Donna Puddu, Chris Slye and Stefan Spolnik.

Ward 7: Scott Duvall and Esther Pauls.

Ward 8: Sonia Brown, John-Paul Danko and Anthony Frisina.

Ward 9: Brad Clark, Walt Juchniewicz and Peter Lanza.

Ward 10: Jeff Beattie, Louie Milojevic and Maria Pearson.

Ward 11: Nicholas Lauwers, Mark Tadeson and Terri Moffett.

Ward 12: Chuck Alkerton, Robert Baboth, Craig Cassar, Karl Hanley, Megg Markettos, Robert Maton, Pamela Mitchell and Cindy Kaye.

Ward 13: Alex Wilson and Arlene VanderBeek.

Ward 14: Kojo Damptey, Brian Lewis, Christine Seketa, Michael Spadafora and Colleen Wicken.

Ward 15: Zobia Jawed, Chris Pera, Ted McMeekin and Sumaira Waqar.

School board trustees

Ward 1: Graeme Noble, Cameron Prosic and  Elizabeth Wong.

Ward 2: Sabreina Dahab, Tarek Jalbout and Andrew Smyth.

Ward 3: Fatima Baig and Maria Felix Miller.

Ward 4: Shane Cunningham Boles, Ray Mulholland and Davin Thornborrow.

Ward 5 and 10: Zahid Butt, Marie Marica Jackson, Nancy Silva Khan, Joseph Szigeti and Todd White.

Ward 6 and 9: Kathy Archer and Jay Edington.

Ward 7: Amy Cowling, Dawn Danko and Ryan Weinberger.

Ward 8 and 14: Behrouz Bakhtiari, Becky Buck and Ahona Mehdi.

Ward 11 and 12: Amanda Fehrman and Tom Patterson.

Ward 13: Larry Masters and Paul Tut.

Ward 15: Syed Banoori, Catherine Kronas, Graeme Noble and Rajbir Karan Verma.

English separate school board

Ward 1, 2 and 15: Mark Valvasori.

Ward 3 and 4: Ralph Agostino and Josie Angelini.

Ward 5: Aldo D’Intino and Lucas Mascotto-Carbone.

Ward 6: Ellen Agostino, Peter Mamer and Anthony Mari.

Ward 7: Patrick John Daly.

Ward 12 and 13: Phil Homerski and Ricky Tavares.

Ward 8 and 14: John Valvasori.

Ward 9 and 11:  Louis Agro, Jeanie Corner and Tyler Iorio.

Ward 10: Andrea Di Nicola and Mary Angela Nardini.

For the full list of registered candidates, click here

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

© 2022 The Bay Observer. All Rights Reserved.

Scroll To Top