[review] PEI indie rockers Two Hours Traffic return with their fourth full-length studio album Foolish Blood, their first full-length release since the band parted ways with former guitarist Alec O’Hanley back in September 2011.

Foolish Blood follows up their 2009 album Territory and their 2012 four-song Siren Spell EP, which included the songs Audrey & Amour Than Amis which both reappear on Foolish Blood.

The band also parted ways with Joel Plaskett, who has produced much of Two Hours Traffic’s music, opting to hire Darryl Neudorf to produce the album. The album also features a guest appearance by Dan Griffin, of the Hamilton-based Arkells.

Despite the personnel changes, Two Hours Traffic maintain their iconic indie-pop sound that fans have come to know and expect from the band. Amour Than Just Amis is definitely the best track on the album, which has the trademark catchy Two Hours Traffic chorus.

In support of the album, the band has embarked on a 30-date tour across Canada, which includes a few U.S dates, and a stop in Hamilton at The Casbah. The band was forced to cancel their Pittsburgh show on March 6th, due to issues with work visas when entering the United States.

Two Hours Traffic returns with another overall solid album in Foolish Blood. The album is full of great music; however, it doesn’t have as many catchy tunes that they have had on previous albums such as Little Jabs. The album also lacks some creativity, although the band has experimented with some new sounds, it lacks variety with many of the songs sounding similar.

1. Magic
2. Audrey
3. Amour Than Amis
4. Last Star
5. Meaning Of Love
6. I Don’t Want 2 Want U
7. Adventureland
8. Faster 4 U
9. Ready For A Look
10. Strangers On The Street
11. O My Love

Shawn McGuire is a Montreal-born and now Hamilton-based journalist who enjoys covering news in the Steel City. He’s a sports fan, vegan, music enthusiast, & vinyl record lover.

Leave a Reply

  • (not be published)