The Colorado Springs-based pop rockers OneRepublic dropped their newest album Native this week. The album was originally supposed to be released in the fall of 2012, but was subsequently delayed and has now finally been released.

Native, follows up the band’s 2009 album Waking Up, which was certified gold in the United States and featured the hit song “All the Right Moves.

OneRepublic continues down the catchy pop rock avenue with Native. The first two singles off the album “Feel Again” and “If I Lose Myself” both have catchy hooks. It’s no surprise since the band’s main songwriter, Ryan Tedder, has written songs for the likes of Adele, Maroon 5, the Backstreet Boys, and many others. “Feel Again” starts off with some hand clapping and tambourines, very similar to Florence + the Machine’s “Dog Days Are Over.”

The 12-track album goes in a few different musical directions, some songs are pop, and others go in an experimental direction. If you’re a die-hard OneRepublic fan, you might find Native as a favourable album. However, if you don’t enjoy simplistic music that is made to be radio friendly, Native is a weak album, full of similar-sounding tracks. The album is overly produced with lots of backing instruments including various string arrangements, lots of percussion, backing vocals, and of course auto-tune.

The album is available as a CD, digital download, and on vinyl. There’s the standard 12-track version as well as a 17-track deluxe version, which includes 2 bonus songs and the rest are merely acoustic versions of tracks already on the album.

Track listing:

1. Counting Stars
2. If I Lose Myself
3. Feel Again
4. What You Wanted
5. I Lived
6. Light It Up
7. Can’t Stop
8. Au Revoir
9. Burning Bridges
10. Something I Need
11. Preacher
12. Don’t Look Down

Deluxe version:

13. Something’s Gotta Give
14. Life In Color
15. If I Lose Myself (acoustic)
16. What You Wanted (acoustic)
17. Burning Bridges (acoustic)

Shawn McGuire is a Montreal-born and now Hamilton-based journalist who enjoys covering news in the Steel City. He’s a sports fan, vegan, music enthusiast, & vinyl record lover.


The Price Is Right LIVE



Leave a Reply

  • (not be published)